top of page
  • Writer's pictureLucy Lavers

Why the Fox for Push Start Marketing?

Updated: Apr 20, 2020

The logo story so far

Since starting the business in 2013 I have had a four logos, none of which I liked. I want a logo I would be proud to have on a hoody, that would look good on a notebook, that I would really love. I never had one of those.


1. 2015 – 2016 I was told it looked like a start up business and I needed something that looked more established

2. 2016 – 2017 Was a simple solution with the idea clients could increase or decrease our level of service for them

3. 2017 – 2018 Came from a suggestion by a branding ‘expert’ which my designer finished for me and then in 2018 came number 4 and the fox.

4. While looking for a logo that showed the personality of the brand and used negative space (I love logos that do this) the fox was suggested to me by a friend. But, as much as I instantly loved it, it was a logo for a single person, a consultant not a company, so I went with number 4 until my business changed in 2020.


Now I am flying solo, back as a freelancer, a consultant and single employee with a team of subcontractors and I have changed the business to something way more personal, now is the time for the fox.

But, why the fox?

1. It looks good on business cards

2. It’s memorable

3. It’s a conversation starter – for many reasons

It was originally suggested to me because I had a passing interest in painting pheasants and paintings of pheasants. Plus, we are based on the edge of the Cotswolds, hence the fox.

After some research on the animals themselves and their characteristics, the fox continued to resonate with me for several reasons;

· In stories and fables foxes are portrayed as sly and cunning, untrustworthy. People are cynical about marketing and don’t necessarily trust marketing professionals/agencies, just like the fox. But those that know and understand a fox can appreciate its talents – this is true of marketing too.

· In reality foxes are adaptable and don’t take no for an answer to get what they want. I am certainly single-minded, determined and creative enough to usually get what I need (not always what I want).

· …the most gregarious of the carnivores – I am gregarious in business, not so much socially. I like a den.


·Their agile minds are always active – true unfortunately

· Flamboyance is usually not the fox's style, preferring to remain inconspicuous in choosing subtlety and cunning over brute strength. Definitely

· A love for exploration is mixed with enjoyment in overcoming challenges - again true

· ..and although they never intend to harm others foxes have developed a reputation for slyness and manipulation – I’m in marketing and PR, I need to be clever and influential. I am agile, creative, adaptive and resourceful for my clients’ sake. I am not sure I have a reputation for slyness and manipulation, but certainly for similar synonyms.

In human form a fox personality denotes;

· They live in small, cosy environments and their houses are usually organized and neat. As a hunter personality, foxes are in good physical shape and enjoy sports that challenge their mind and body. I love running, I think that counts.

· They would never deliberately take advantage of others, but their single-mindedness often blinds them to their feelings – this happens sometimes.

· They thrive in their own businesses and like to surround themselves with family and friends in these ventures. Although they demand consensus in all decisions, they dominate discussions and steer the plans to reflect their own agenda. This is me too, I like everyone to agree with my decisions and the nature of my work means I do need to direct discussions.

Why not just keep the old logo - it was OK.

It was OK, but I never really liked it, it was never unique enough for me and was just a bland representation of the name. This is way more personal, unique and certainly different. In a business coach exercise, earlier in my business, I identified as a lion, leader of the pack when I had four employees. But, now it’s just me and I don’t want to go with a ‘lone’ wolf or lion, I think that is too presumptuous and doesn’t represent me and what I do. I don’t want to be represented as the ‘king’ of beasts; the misunderstood underdog that survives in all terrains suits me much better.


Even if some of you think it looks like a cat with a beard!!



bottom of page